HTC Touch HD – Support Forum

HD Touch HD in Ireland (3G) [HTC Touch HD - 173494]

Hi,

Does anyone know how I can use this phone in Ireland and get 3G internet?
All the mobile providers say that 3G internet will only work with their software.  I'm currently with vodafone and was hoping to move to 3.
Any information is greatlyappreciated :)

If you have a 3G sim and there's 3G coverage, you'll get 3G.  If you are using 3, you won't be able to use 3's offers like unlimited MSN and their Planet3 s**te.  You'll still get 3G coverage and be able to use 3G speeds for downloads though.

Pete (I need JD) Graham ************** Damn you! Use forum search!!.

That sounds great, thanks Pete. 

Incidentally, are you with 3? Any experience with 3Pay?  

Thanks

Hello mate,

Ok - first off no I have no experience with 3 nor will I ever have.  In the UK they share their bandwidth with Orange who I despise so purely on that basis I have nothing to do with them - I am vodafone through and through now and think they are great.

The only things I will mention to you about 3 are these:

Coverage - not always great and they do share their bandwidth with other operators.  I am not 100% but I think they have their lower band service provided by Voda in Ireland - you would be wise to check this.  Won't affect you unless you have coverage problems.