UBiQUiO 101 Cordless Skype and Landline Home Phone – Support Forum

Ubiquio problems; [UBiQUiO 101 Cordless Skype and Landline Home Phone - 135658]

• Tazfan

Hi.

I have recently taken delivery of a 101, but I cant get it to work. The phone cable that was supplied didn’t fit as it was RJ11 on both ends. I need RJ11 on the phone end and a BT style plug on the other. I bought a replacement cable from Maplins (HOW expensive are they??) yesterday, but plugging in resulted in no success. The handset/base are registered to each other, but there is no response from the phone at all.

I have even tried the cable from my working landline, but it still doesn’t work.

I read in the manual that cables other than the one supplied may not work. Could that be the case here? If so, how do I get around it if the supplied cable is the wrong one?

I have no idea if the Skype side of the phone works, as I am new to it and have no Skype contacts.

Any help that you can offer will be appreciated a great deal, so thank you very much in advance for your time.

Neil

• Yoni

The cable it came with should plug in to the ADSL filter, not the phone socket. 

To test the skype connection add "echo123" as a contact, and call it.

Yoni,
eXpansys Product Support,
Forum Search

Firstly don't plug it into your ADSL box as someone else has suggested that wont fix the problem, that wont do anything at all.

Secondly you need to get a convertor to go from RJ11 to the BT phone socket.  I got one with an phone extension cable I bought from Asda, you can also get them from here http://www.cablecity.co.uk/product_info.php?products_id=431&ref=6

As for the cable being so expensive in Maplin.  Yes it will be expensive in Maplin, you would have been far better going on the internet or going to your local pound shop for the cable.